National Quality Framework Policy (QA1)

Have more questions? Submit a request

Woodlands - National Quality Framework Policy


Related Policies



Our service participates in the National Quality Framework (NQF). The service aims is to provide the highest quality education and care available across all areas.



This policy applies to children, families, staff, management, and visitors of the Service.



Our Service participates in and values the National Quality Framework (NQF), including the National Quality Standard (NQS), the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) and the National Regulations - an Australian Government initiative linked to the funding of the Child Care Benefit for parents.  This is conducted through the Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) and the state licensing department through scheduled site assessment visits and where appropriate, spontaneous visits.

The NQS provides standards of quality practices for care provided in our Service as well as guidance and support from the Service's self-evaluation through our Quality Improvement Plan (QIP). The system also allows educators to continually improve practices by identifying the quality aspects of care the Service is already providing and assisting the Service in developing goals for further improvement through our QIP. The Service is required to complete and submit a comprehensive QIP every twelve months.

The Service will ensure that all educators and management are informed about current practices and requirements in the NQF process by attending appropriate in-service/training, accessing any other publications and information about the accreditation process that may be of benefit - including those published by ACECQA.

Educators will involve parents, families, and management in each stage to seek their input and views into practices and care in our Service - this includes having parent input into policy reviews, parent meetings, and providing updates in newsletters about the Service's current stage in the process.


The seven Standards under the NQS are: 

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children's health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Governance and Leadership

The Rating System

 The NQS is accompanied by a national quality rating and assessment process that promotes transparency and accountability and assists parents to make informed choices about the quality of education and care at a service. Our service will display the rating received for each quality area and the overall rating.

 The Ratings are as follows: 

    • Excellent
    • Exceeding National Quality Standard
    • Meeting National Quality Standard
    • Working towards National Quality Standard
    • Significant improvement required.

 We will access regular updates on the ACECQA website -



National Quality Standard Early Years Learning Framework

Education and Care Services National Regulations 2011



Policy Reviewed 


Next Review Date 

January 2020

Branding and formatting adjusted 

Persons responsible amended to reflect service practices- not pertinent to policy delivery

Related Policy links added

March 2020

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful